Just before Venice was annexed to the Kingdom of Italy, academics and administrators were increasingly concerned by the Fondaco dei Turchi, then little more than a ruin. The Protection commission deemed it one of the city’s four main monuments, and Selvatico had termed it a unique example of a Roman-Byzantine home-cum-warehouse, with marked Arab influences. Awaiting the opening of the Suez Canal, Venice looked to the East with great expectations, hoping to regain its old role as a trade hub. At the same time, the Fondaco dei Turchi was identified as the home for the new Civic museum, the ideal continuation of Palazzo Correr nearby, donated to the city in the 1930s. The work would continue for about twenty-four years (1863-1887), following various restoration approaches.
Keywords: Fondaco; restoration; Venice